Julius bosses his rivals in J Swap Contractors Sprint16 Dec 2019

An amazing comeback victory by Julius was a highlight on Waikato Cup day when the cult figure captured the Group Three $70,000 J Swap Contractors Sprint (1400m) on Saturday.

The eight-year-old was asked to carry 60kgs in a competitive field of sprinters, only recently returned to racing after a tendon injury saw him officially retired just over twelve months ago.
Regular rider Jason Waddell kept him handy to leaders Donna Anne Billy (J. Fawcett) and Tinkalicious (C. Lammas) and when asked for a final effort, the gutsy determination was brilliant, grabbing the pacemakers short of the line, to record a special half length victory.

“What a fantastic job they’ve done to get him back,” Jason Waddell said.
“I ride him in work five times a week and he’s my best mate. He’s arrogant to a point where he tows me around the track every morning, but we just love him to bits.”
“John and his team and the vet have done a fantastic job nursing him back. I reckon he is as sound as he’s ever been.”
“I really wanted him to get an extra kilo (re-handicap) for the Railway as it makes my job easier.”
“He is bang on track. He’s not quite effective left-handed as right-handed, he wobbles around the corner a little. He was always going to win, but just plays a little and gives you heart in mouth.”
“Preferably I wanted to sit outside the leader and dictate the pace with the 60kgs, but we got a nice sit and I got him stoked up on the corner and he just breaks their heart over the last 100 metres,” Waddell said.

Julius’ winning time was 1:22.03 (last 600m in 34.22) on a Good3 track.

“A lot of work has gone into this as you know. A lot of work by Jason and the team, so to have him back is great,” trainer John Bell said.
“It was a top win, very good,” an emotional Bell said.
Bell intends to aim Julius for the Group 1 Sistema Railway at Ellerslie on New Year’s Day.

Julius eighth win from 15 starts has earned $274,000 in stakes for owners M Balzer, Miss Summer Bell, G H Davey, W G Harris, R E Hawkins, H R Jones, S P Read, M I Robins & P Smith-Schmidt.